Seg Dennison

Seg Dennison

Want to know more about Seg Dennison? Get their official bio, social pages & articles on 700WLW!Full Bio


Post season honors for NKU

Mail -                                                                                                                                  

HIGHLAND HEIGHTS, Ky. – Drew McDonald, Carson Williams and head coach John Brannen of the Northern Kentucky University men’s basketball team collected postseason awards from the Horizon League on Wednesday following NKU’s exciting 21-win regular season.


Head coaches, sports information directors and media members voted McDonald to the All-Horizon League First Team. The sophomore forward had a tremendous season for the Norse, averaging 16.5 points and 7.6 rebounds per game. His 10 double-doubles this year were the second most in the League, trailing only player of the year Alec Peters from Valparaiso. The native of Cold Spring, Kentucky (Newport Central Catholic), was named Horizon League Player of the Week three different times throughout the year and earned Tarkett Sports Classic All-Tournament Team early in the season.


Williams earned a spot on the all-freshman team after starting all but one game this season (senior day), averaging 10.6 points and 5.9 rebounds per game and shooting 59.3 percent from the floor. Williams, a native of Owenton, Kentucky (Owen County), collected a Horizon League-best four Freshman of the Week honors, including the final two of the season.


After guiding Northern Kentucky to the second-best turnaround in the country and exceeding preseason polls that picked the Norse to finish seventh in the Horizon League standings, Brannen was chosen as the League’s Coach of the Year. Northern Kentucky’s 21 wins are 12 more than it posted last season and trail only Minnesota’s plus-14 in the win column. The Norse also won nine of their last 11 games, including the season finale against league-leading Valpo, to earn a share of third place in the final standings.


NKU reached unprecedented heights this season. The 21 wins are a Division I-era record for the Norse and helped Northern Kentucky climb up to No. 102 in Monday’s NCAA RPI release. And, the Norse are peaking at the right time, winning nine of their last 11 games headed into postseason play.


As the No. 4 seed in the 2017 Horizon League Men’s Basketball Championship, Northern Kentucky will face off against No. 5 seed Wright State in the opening round at 7:30 p.m. at Joe Louis Arena in Detroit.


First Team All-Horizon League

Drew McDonald, Northern Kentucky

Jalen Hayes, Oakland

Alec Peters, Valparaiso

Mark Alstork, Wright State

Cameron Morse, Youngstown State


Second Team All-Horizon League

Rob Edwards, Cleveland State

Jaleel Hogan, Detroit Mercy

Charles Cooper, Green Bay

Martez Walker, Oakland

Shane Hammink, Valparaiso


All-Freshman Team

Corey Allen, Detroit Mercy

Carson Williams, Northern Kentucky

Isaiah Brock, Oakland

Tarkus Ferguson, UIC

Dominique Matthews, UIC


All-Defensive Team

Kenneth Lowe, Green Bay

Khalil Small, Green Bay

Isaiah Brock, Oakland

Tai Odiase, UIC

Tevonn Walker, Valparaiso


Player of the Year

Alec Peters, Valparaiso


Coach of the Year

John Brannen, Northern Kentucky


Freshman of the Year

Corey Allen, Detroit Mercy


Defensive Player of the Year

Tai Odiase, UIC


Sixth Man of the Year

Warren Jones, Green Bay


Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content