(Cincinnati, Oh.)--The National Weather Service has changed much of the region from the winter storm warning to an ice storm warning beginning at 4 p.m. Tuesday and remain in effect until 10 a.m. Wednesday.

Forecasters say Butler and Warren counties in Ohio and Fayette and Union counties in Indiana, could see up to 6 inches of snow from the storm, although some freezing rain may mix in as well. Most of the metropolitan area could see snow totals between 3 to 5 inches.

Areas south of Cincinnati, including Mason and Robertson counties in Kentucky, in may see light snowfall and a possible heavy rain.

Heavy rain is the biggest threat for Mason and Robertson counties in Kentucky on top of 6 inches of snow that fell in those counties Monday.

Statewide Forecasters say 6 to 10 inches of snow could fall as the storm makes its way across the state. The heaviest snow is expected between 9 p.m. Tuesday and 2 a.m. Wednesday _ meaning that the morning rush hour could be messy.